AI coding plans and pricing
18 subscription plans for Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, GitHub Copilot, in US dollars per month, each checked against the vendor's official page.
None of these companies publishes how many tokens a plan includes. Usage depends on the model, the size of the task and how much context it carries, and every plan has limits that reset over time. The notes below summarize what each official page says.
Claude Code
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included credit | What the official page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro | $20/mo | $17/mo | — | Includes Claude Code. Usage limits reset every 5 hours, with weekly limits on top; no fixed message count is published. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Max 5x | $100/mo | — | $100/mo API credit | 5× Pro's usage per 5-hour session; weekly limits apply. Includes $100 a month of Claude API credit, which does not cover interactive Claude Code. Billed monthly only. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Max 20x | $200/mo | — | $200/mo API credit | 20× Pro's usage per 5-hour session; weekly limits apply. Includes $200 a month of Claude API credit, which does not cover interactive Claude Code. Billed monthly only. | Verified Oct 9 |
Codex
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included credit | What the official page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | — | — | Codex for quick coding tasks; GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Go | $8/mo | — | — | Codex for lightweight coding tasks; GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Plus | $20/mo | — | — | Codex on the web, in the CLI, IDE extension and iOS; GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna. Official estimate: 15–160 local messages per 5 hours with GPT-6.1 Sol. Extra usage with ChatGPT credits. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $100/mo | — | — | Everything in Plus. Pro plans currently have no 5-hour limit; weekly limits may apply. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $200/mo | — | — | Everything in Plus. Pro plans currently have no 5-hour limit; weekly limits may apply. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $500/mo | — | — | Everything in Plus, plus Ultrafast mode. Pro plans currently have no 5-hour limit; weekly limits may apply. | Verified Oct 9 |
Cursor
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included credit | What the official page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hobby | Free | — | — | Free, with limited agent requests. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $20/mo | — | — | Higher agent limits, frontier models, MCP, skills and hooks, cloud agents. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Teams | $40/moper user | — | — | Per user; $40 is the Standard seat (a Premium seat is also offered). Everything in the individual plans plus centralized billing, team usage analytics and SAML/OIDC SSO. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro+ | $60/mo | — | — | An individual tier above Pro; the pricing page does not state the usage amount. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Ultra | $200/mo | — | — | The top individual tier; the pricing page does not state the usage amount. | Verified Oct 9 |
GitHub Copilot
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included credit | What the official page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | — | — | Limited chat and agent usage; 2,000 inline suggestions a month. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $10/mo | — | $15/mo AI credits | $15 a month of GitHub AI Credits ($10 base plus $5 flex allotment, which may change); unlimited inline suggestions. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro+ | $39/mo | — | $70/mo AI credits | $70 a month of GitHub AI Credits ($39 base plus $31 flex); can delegate tasks to third-party agents such as Claude and Codex (preview). | Verified Oct 9 |
| Max | $100/mo | — | $200/mo AI credits | $200 a month of GitHub AI Credits ($100 base plus $100 flex); can delegate tasks to third-party agents such as Claude and Codex (preview). | Verified Oct 9 |
Compare
Questions
- How much does Claude Code cost?
- Claude Code plans: Pro $20/mo ($17/mo billed yearly), Max 5x $100/mo, Max 20x $200/mo. The free Claude plan does not include Claude Code.
- How much does Codex cost?
- Codex plans: Free, Go $8/mo, Plus $20/mo, Pro $100/mo, Pro $200/mo, Pro $500/mo.
- How much does Cursor cost?
- Cursor plans: Hobby (free), Pro $20/mo, Teams $40/mo per user, Pro+ $60/mo, Ultra $200/mo.
- How much does GitHub Copilot cost?
- GitHub Copilot plans: Free, Pro $10/mo, Pro+ $39/mo, Max $100/mo.
- Do AI coding plans have usage limits?
- Yes. Every plan limits chat and agent usage, and none of these companies publishes the limits as a number of tokens. Claude limits reset every 5 hours with weekly limits on top; Codex publishes estimated message ranges for Plus; GitHub Copilot states the dollar value of the AI credits each plan includes.
- Which plans include a fixed amount of credit?
- Claude Max 5x: $100/mo API credit, Claude Max 20x: $200/mo API credit, Copilot Pro: $15/mo AI credits, Copilot Pro+: $70/mo AI credits, Copilot Max: $200/mo AI credits. Claude Max credit is for the Claude API and does not cover interactive Claude Code; GitHub AI Credits are spent inside Copilot.