Claude Code vs Cursor pricing
None of these companies publishes how many tokens a plan includes. Usage depends on the model, the size of the task and how much context it carries, and every plan has limits that reset over time. The notes below summarize what each official page says.
Claude Code
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included credit | What the official page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro | $20/mo | $17/mo | — | Includes Claude Code. Usage limits reset every 5 hours, with weekly limits on top; no fixed message count is published. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Max 5x | $100/mo | — | $100/mo API credit | 5× Pro's usage per 5-hour session; weekly limits apply. Includes $100 a month of Claude API credit, which does not cover interactive Claude Code. Billed monthly only. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Max 20x | $200/mo | — | $200/mo API credit | 20× Pro's usage per 5-hour session; weekly limits apply. Includes $200 a month of Claude API credit, which does not cover interactive Claude Code. Billed monthly only. | Verified Oct 9 |
Cursor
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included credit | What the official page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hobby | Free | — | — | Free, with limited agent requests. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $20/mo | — | — | Higher agent limits, frontier models, MCP, skills and hooks, cloud agents. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Teams | $40/moper user | — | — | Per user; $40 is the Standard seat (a Premium seat is also offered). Everything in the individual plans plus centralized billing, team usage analytics and SAML/OIDC SSO. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro+ | $60/mo | — | — | An individual tier above Pro; the pricing page does not state the usage amount. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Ultra | $200/mo | — | — | The top individual tier; the pricing page does not state the usage amount. | Verified Oct 9 |
Questions
- Is Claude Code cheaper than Cursor?
- By list price: the lowest paid Claude Code plan is Pro ($20) and the highest individual plan is Max 20x ($200); for Cursor they are Pro ($20) and Ultra ($200). The plans include different usage, which neither company publishes in tokens, so compare what you need, not only the price.
- How much does Claude Code cost?
- Claude Code plans: Pro $20/mo ($17/mo billed yearly), Max 5x $100/mo, Max 20x $200/mo. The free Claude plan does not include Claude Code.
- How much does Cursor cost?
- Cursor plans: Hobby (free), Pro $20/mo, Teams $40/mo per user, Pro+ $60/mo, Ultra $200/mo.
- Do AI coding plans have usage limits?
- Yes. Every plan limits chat and agent usage, and none of these companies publishes the limits as a number of tokens. Claude limits reset every 5 hours with weekly limits on top; Codex publishes estimated message ranges for Plus; GitHub Copilot states the dollar value of the AI credits each plan includes.