Cursor vs GitHub Copilot pricing
None of these companies publishes how many tokens a plan includes. Usage depends on the model, the size of the task and how much context it carries, and every plan has limits that reset over time. The notes below summarize what each official page says.
Cursor
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included credit | What the official page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hobby | Free | — | — | Free, with limited agent requests. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $20/mo | — | — | Higher agent limits, frontier models, MCP, skills and hooks, cloud agents. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Teams | $40/moper user | — | — | Per user; $40 is the Standard seat (a Premium seat is also offered). Everything in the individual plans plus centralized billing, team usage analytics and SAML/OIDC SSO. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro+ | $60/mo | — | — | An individual tier above Pro; the pricing page does not state the usage amount. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Ultra | $200/mo | — | — | The top individual tier; the pricing page does not state the usage amount. | Verified Oct 9 |
GitHub Copilot
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included credit | What the official page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | — | — | Limited chat and agent usage; 2,000 inline suggestions a month. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $10/mo | — | $15/mo AI credits | $15 a month of GitHub AI Credits ($10 base plus $5 flex allotment, which may change); unlimited inline suggestions. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro+ | $39/mo | — | $70/mo AI credits | $70 a month of GitHub AI Credits ($39 base plus $31 flex); can delegate tasks to third-party agents such as Claude and Codex (preview). | Verified Oct 9 |
| Max | $100/mo | — | $200/mo AI credits | $200 a month of GitHub AI Credits ($100 base plus $100 flex); can delegate tasks to third-party agents such as Claude and Codex (preview). | Verified Oct 9 |
Questions
- Is Cursor cheaper than GitHub Copilot?
- By list price: the lowest paid Cursor plan is Pro ($20) and the highest individual plan is Ultra ($200); for GitHub Copilot they are Pro ($10) and Max ($100). The plans include different usage, which neither company publishes in tokens, so compare what you need, not only the price.
- How much does Cursor cost?
- Cursor plans: Hobby (free), Pro $20/mo, Teams $40/mo per user, Pro+ $60/mo, Ultra $200/mo.
- How much does GitHub Copilot cost?
- GitHub Copilot plans: Free, Pro $10/mo, Pro+ $39/mo, Max $100/mo.
- Do AI coding plans have usage limits?
- Yes. Every plan limits chat and agent usage, and none of these companies publishes the limits as a number of tokens. Claude limits reset every 5 hours with weekly limits on top; Codex publishes estimated message ranges for Plus; GitHub Copilot states the dollar value of the AI credits each plan includes.