Codex vs Cursor pricing
None of these companies publishes how many tokens a plan includes. Usage depends on the model, the size of the task and how much context it carries, and every plan has limits that reset over time. The notes below summarize what each official page says.
Codex
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included credit | What the official page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | — | — | Codex for quick coding tasks; GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Go | $8/mo | — | — | Codex for lightweight coding tasks; GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Plus | $20/mo | — | — | Codex on the web, in the CLI, IDE extension and iOS; GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna. Official estimate: 15–160 local messages per 5 hours with GPT-6.1 Sol. Extra usage with ChatGPT credits. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $100/mo | — | — | Everything in Plus. Pro plans currently have no 5-hour limit; weekly limits may apply. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $200/mo | — | — | Everything in Plus. Pro plans currently have no 5-hour limit; weekly limits may apply. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $500/mo | — | — | Everything in Plus, plus Ultrafast mode. Pro plans currently have no 5-hour limit; weekly limits may apply. | Verified Oct 9 |
Cursor
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included credit | What the official page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hobby | Free | — | — | Free, with limited agent requests. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro | $20/mo | — | — | Higher agent limits, frontier models, MCP, skills and hooks, cloud agents. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Teams | $40/moper user | — | — | Per user; $40 is the Standard seat (a Premium seat is also offered). Everything in the individual plans plus centralized billing, team usage analytics and SAML/OIDC SSO. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Pro+ | $60/mo | — | — | An individual tier above Pro; the pricing page does not state the usage amount. | Verified Oct 9 |
| Ultra | $200/mo | — | — | The top individual tier; the pricing page does not state the usage amount. | Verified Oct 9 |
Questions
- Is Codex cheaper than Cursor?
- By list price: the lowest paid Codex plan is Go ($8) and the highest individual plan is Pro ($500); for Cursor they are Pro ($20) and Ultra ($200). The plans include different usage, which neither company publishes in tokens, so compare what you need, not only the price.
- How much does Codex cost?
- Codex plans: Free, Go $8/mo, Plus $20/mo, Pro $100/mo, Pro $200/mo, Pro $500/mo.
- How much does Cursor cost?
- Cursor plans: Hobby (free), Pro $20/mo, Teams $40/mo per user, Pro+ $60/mo, Ultra $200/mo.
- Do AI coding plans have usage limits?
- Yes. Every plan limits chat and agent usage, and none of these companies publishes the limits as a number of tokens. Claude limits reset every 5 hours with weekly limits on top; Codex publishes estimated message ranges for Plus; GitHub Copilot states the dollar value of the AI credits each plan includes.